Dana Johnson, AICP

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 649
Marietta, GA

Physical Address:
1150 Powder Springs St., Ste 400
Marietta, GA.

Location Map

Office hours:
8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Monday through Friday

Community Development Agency

House image

Who We Are

Mailing Address:  P.O.Box 649, Marietta, GA 30061

Ensure safe quality residential, commercial, and industrial development in accordance with federal, state, community, and professional standards.

Inspect sites and buildings for compliance with federal, state, community, and professional practices and standards.

Provide enforcement of County ordinances applicable to development.

Provide the best possible professional to the Planning Commission, Board of Zoning Appeals, Historic Preservation Commission, Cemetery Preservation Commission, and the Board of Commissioners on zoning, growth management, and community building to ensure that their decisions will serve the best interests of the county residents.

Issue Business Licenses, assess occupational taxes and permits, and collect related fees, penalties, interest, and taxes on beer, wine, liquor, cable television, and hotels/motels.




The Community Development Agency is the development-coordinating agency for Cobb County. It is responsible for implementing federal and state environmental mandates; it advises the Board of Commissioners and the general public on development and planning issues as they affect the environment, financial, economic, legal, and social welfare of Cobb County; and it has a responsibility to maintain and increase the quality of life in the County as deemed necessary by the Board of Commissioners and County residents. The Agency fulfills its role by providing and, when necessary, enhancing the following programs as administered by its five divisions: Business License, Code Enforcement, Development and Inspections, Planning, and Zoning.

Administration Division
TBD, AICP, Director - 770-528-2125
Lee McClead, Deputy Director - 770-528-2041
The Administration Division is responsible for planning, directing, supporting and supervising the functions of various divisions and sections including Business License, Code Enforcement, Development and Inspections, Erosion Control, Geographic Information Systems (GIS), Planning, and Zoning.The administration division coordinates the acceptance of public infrastructure constructed as part of new development projects, as well as develops county policies and procedures regarding land use and development and collects revenues through licensing and fine assessments. Most importantly, the division focus is to maintain and increase the quality of life in the county as deemed necessary by the Board of Commissioners and county residents.

Business License Division
Sandra Richardson, Manager - 770-528-8410
The Cobb County Business License Division reviews, approves, and processes business permit applications. All entities and persons doing business in unincorporated Cobb County (including subcontractors and commercial property landlords) are required to obtain a business or occupational authorization through the Business license Division.

Code Enforcement Division
Jerry Lanham, Manager - 770-528-2180
Code Enforcement division is responsible for investigating and enforcing code violations of a number of chapters of the Cobb County Code, including the Zoning, Sign, and Solid Waste, through complaints and/or inquiries received, as well as through pro-active enforcement.

Development and Inspections Division
Lee McClead, CBO, Manager - 770-528-2039
The Development & Inspections division ensures that all county development adheres to the laws and regulations of Cobb County, the State of Georgia, and the United States Government. This division is made up of three sections. The Site Plan Review Section, which coordinates the review and approval process for all site construction documents submitted for permitting; the Site Inspections Section, which issues field permits for various site construction activities after a successful inspection of requirements from issued Land Disturbance Permit (LDP); and the Permitting section, which is responsible for reviewing and approving building permits and issuing Certificate’s of Occupancy.

Erosion and Sediment Control Section
Frank Gipson, Supervisor - 770-528-2190
Erosion and Sediment Control is responsible for the enforcement of state law (The Erosion and Sedimentation Act O.C.G.A. 12-7-1 et. Seq.) and the county ordinance (SS 50-75) to preserve the natural resources in Cobb County. The main goal is to maintain and provide a better quality of life for our citizens. In addition, the division is actively involved in educating and providing technical assistance to staff, developers, and engineers.

Planning Division
Jason Gaines, Planning Division Manager - 770-528-2018
The Planning Division is responsible for long-range as well as short-range planning activities in the development of special area and small area studies as requested by the Board of Commissioners. These studies require a broad range of knowledge about a variety of data, extensive research, as well as professional design skills. It is the responsibility of the Planning Division to maintain the counties Comprehensive Plan to accurately reflect current community conditions, the community’s vision, and priorities for the future. While major updates follow every 5 and 10 years, minor updates, which include changes to the text and future land use map, occur on an annual basis. Also, the Planning Division contains the GIS section of Community Development. This section is responsible for mapping, database management, and analysis of data as it relates to the support of a variety of Agency functions.

Zoning Division
John Pederson, Manager - 770-528-2025
Zoning is the process in which governments manage the physical development of land and the kinds of uses to which each individual property may be placed. Zoning laws typically specify the areas in which residential, industrial, recreational, or commercial activities may occur. These set of laws or codes can be found in the Zoning Ordinance generally referred to as the Land Development Code.