Cobb County Government

The Information Services Department provides central IT support for all County departments. This includes business application support, implementation and upgrades to all existing applications such as tax, financial/human resources, public safety, and judicial systems. The County business systems and technology infrastructure include a variety of large enterprise class technologies including a variety of specialized systems. Each County agency also has business applications that are specific to its unique business that are supported by the Information Services Department. Priority has been placed on expanding the use of technology enterprise-wide by allocating $30 million in Special Purpose Local Option Sales Taxes (SPLOST) funding over the next five years. These funds will be used for technology modernization including e-Government initiatives which will provide even more digital access to our citizens and businesses.

The Information Services Department is organized into six divisions—Administration, Client Services Division I, Client Services Division II, Technical Operations/GIS, Records Management/Mail Services, and Web Portal.

Cobb County 2016 SPLOST Projects (Information Services) [PDF]

Cobb County 2016 SPLOST Brochure [PDF] is a portal connecting department sites with other internal, external, and vendor-hosted systems. The website and system serve the public and support over 150 Cobb County employees that provide sevices and information online.

Records Management/Mail Services is a division of the Information Services Department. The division offers four services: Records, Mail, Printing and Multi-functional Copiers.

The Technical Operations/GIS Division is composed of six operational teams. The Communications and Security Team is responsible for the operations, monitoring, and security of the countywide voice and data networks consisting of routers and switches, wireless access points, and firewalls.

Two Client Services divisions support the technology related to the business needs and strategic goals of all county agencies, departments, and constitutional offices.

The Administration Division consists of the Director of Information Services, the Project Management Office (PMO), and the department’s administrative team.