Cobb County Government

Community Relations Council

Authorization: Resolution of the Board of Commissioners per minutes of October 9, 1989; method of appointed amended by resolution of BOC 1/25/94. Reactivation by amendment to enabling resolution on March 24, 2009.

Description: Consists of twenty-four (24) members; eighteen (18) members shall be appointed by the BOC as follows: Each District Commissioner shall appoint three (3) members with the Chairman appointing six (6) members; each of the six (6) Mayors in Cobb County shall appoint one (1) member. Members serve at the pleasure of the appointing Commissioner or Mayor. Members shall be appointed for a one (1) year term with the initial appointment expiring December 31, 2010. The Chairman, Vice-Chairman and Secretary of the Community Relations Council shall be elected from among its members. Other officers shall be established and filled as prescribed by the Community Relations Council. Members receive no compensation.

Board Members:
Wilbur D. Parker
Isabel Ko
Nysia Lanier
Dan Vargas
Dr. Steven Oweida
Amjad Taufique
Spencer H. Gelernter, PhD
Patty Smitherman
Brunessa Drayton
Dyann Wilkerson
David Lewis
Bryan Crute
Erica Parker
Ron Fernandez
Marlon Longacre
Carolyn Duncan
Eric S. Jarmons
James C. Dodd
Doris Dawkins-Richardson
Ziad Salameh
Larry Ceminsky
Tonya Boga
Donna Shaw
Sally Riddle
Angelo Brown

Contact Information:
Patty Smitherman
(770) 953-1225