Cobb County Government

Awards to honor contributions to the arts

Staff Reports


The Cobb Arts Board and The Friends of the Arts, Inc. will hold the 2011 Ovation Awards on Monday, Oct. 10 at the Earl Smith Strand Theatre in Marietta.


The Ovation Awards recognizes individuals and groups that make significant contributions to the arts in Cobb County. The event is co-chaired by Earl Smith Strand Theatre Executive Director Earl Reece and Superior Court Judge Mary Staley.

A special acknowledgement and award will be present to Ron and Claire Francis for their tremendous support of the arts in Cobb County.

"Ron and Claire have been tireless in their efforts to increase visibility and promote awareness of the arts for many years," Reece said. "It's time for their dedication to be recognized."

During the award ceremony, a cocktail bar will be open along with the "Just Desserts" dessert bar featuring the creative efforts of culinary leaders. Guests can enjoy samples of dessert from local eateries across Cobb County.

Categories of this year's awards ceremony include outstanding instructor award, outstanding performing artist, outstanding visual artist, and volunteer of the year. Nominations were solicited from the public.

Past recipients include Red and Pat Clinton, Earl Smith, Randall and Karen Heard, Jevares Myrick, Robby Edwards, The Georgia Ballet, Frank Timmerman, Ray Hall, Dance Stop Studios, Alan Kilpatrick, Cindy Mora, Tom Miley, Kayla Taylor, Ann Cummings and the South Cobb Arts Alliance.

The annual event is presented by Cobb Arts Board and The Friends of the Arts, Inc., a group comprised of members of the Cobb County Arts Board appointed by the Cobb County Board of Commissioners to support and promote the arts.

Reservations are required. For more information, visit Ovation Awards or call The Strand Theatre Box Office at 770-293-0080.

The box office is open Monday through Friday from 9 a.m.-noon; 1-4 p.m.; and two hours before event. The theatre is located at 117 North Park Square, Marietta.