Cobb County Government

The Cobb County Law Library was established in 1967. The Law Library is a division of Superior Court Administration.

Pursuant to state legislation, a Board of Trustees is responsible for making all rules and regulations governing the Law Library. Under the direction of the Board of Trustees and the Law Librarian, the Cobb County Law Library was created for the express "use of judges, solicitors, ordinaries and other officers of Cobb County" as a legal research facility. The Law Library is governed by O.C.G.A. 36-15-1 through 36-15-12.

The mission of the Cobb County Law Library is to provide a central location for accessible legal research. Resources include bound print publications, access to online legal research engines including WestlawNext and LexisAdvance, and a collection of legal periodicals. The Library maintains a database record for all of its legal materials including those ordered and distributed to the Cobb County Judicial Circuit.



In addition to most regional reporters, the Cobb County Law Library volumes include:

  • Georgia Codes, Statutes, Administrative Regulations, and Court Decisions.
  • Court Rules for the Georgia State and Federal Courts.
  • Municipal Codes for the Cities of Marietta, Smyrna and Kennesaw as well as Cobb County Code.
  • Georgia Practice and Research materials including case law digests, legal encyclopedias, form books, and jury instructions.
  • An audio visual collection on various topics designed to assist attorney’s and individuals representing themselves.
  • Texts. Treatises, practice aids and loose leaf binder publications.
  • Legal periodicals, including Harvard Law Review, University of Georgia Law Review, Georgia State Law Review and Mercer University Law review.
  • Various directories of attorneys, including Martindale-Hubbell directory.


Computer Legal Research
alt Lexis Logo