Cobb County Government

 

alert2
Cobb Storm Debris Removal Policy: Cobb County crews cannot remove tree or landscaping debris that occurred on private property. The removal of this debris is the responsibility of the property owner.

Cobb County DOT crews are still working to clear roadways and right of way of debris mostly caused by falling trees during the recent snow storm. Crews will only clear the debris affecting county roads or property. Property owners are asked to call their private disposal company or tree service to have debris removed if necessary.

Be Prepared for Winter Weather

alert2

Taxes & Fees

 
Occupation Tax & Regulatory Fees

The Occupation Tax for the operation of a business with a Alcoholic Beverage License is contingent on the projected gross revenue from all revenue sources of the business for 12 months. In addition, flat non-prorated regulatory fees for liquor, beer, or wine are as follows:

Liquor Pouring $5,000 Wine Pouring $600
Liquor Package $5,000 Wine Package $600
Beer Pouring $600 Sunday Sales Pouring $1,000
Beer Package $600 Sunday Sales Package $500
Catering $2000 Corkage $1000
 
 
Taxes - Sales, Federal, State, County and Alcohol
Sales Taxes

Businesses are required to collect sales taxes on the retail sale of merchandise, the rental of certain items, and for certain services. Contact the Georgia Department of Revenue at 877-423-6711 to obtain a sales tax number.

Taxes (Federal)

Businesses are required to obtain a federal employers tax identification number to report income and to submit federal payroll taxes. Federal income tax information and assistance may be obtained by calling 800-829-1040 or to request forms at 800-829-3676.

Taxes (State)

Information pertaining to preparation of tax returns for state income taxes may be obtained by calling the Georgia Department of Revenue at 877-423-6711.

Taxes (County)

All real and personal property taxes owed to Cobb County must be paid prior to the issuance or renewal of a business registration certificate. Questions regarding real property taxes or personal property taxes should be directed to the Tax Commissioner’s Office at 770-528-8600.

Alcohol Taxes

Additional taxes which are to be paid to the Business License Division include a 3% per drink tax on liquor drinks served at retail pouring establishments, a wholesaler’s tax on beer, wine, liquor to be paid by licensed wholesalers. The 3% drink tax is calculated on “spirituous” liquor sales only and is due by the 20th day of each month for the previous month’s sales.

A 3% commission is allowed for returns filed in a timely manner. If the return is not filed by the 20th of each month, interest accrues at the rate of one percent per month. Penalties are calculated at 10% per month. A 25% penalty will be assessed for fraud or intent to evade.

It is the taxpayer’s responsibility to obtain the appropriate form from the Business License Division to submit all business related taxes.

All businesses with a county Alcoholic Beverage License, pouring and package, are required to pay an annual Federal Special Tax to the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms. Please call 404-417-2600 between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Eastern time for more information and forms.