Legal Age to Consume Alcohol: 21
Legal Age to Serve Alcohol: 18
Legal Age to Sell Alcohol: 18*
* Except in supermarket & drug store where a sales clerk can be sixteen under the supervision of a permitted manager.
Only Acceptable Forms of Identification
- Any State Driver's License
- Military Identification
- State-Issued Identification Card
Monday through Friday, 6 a.m. until 2 a.m.
Saturday 8 a.m. until 2:55 a.m. Sunday
Sunday (with Sunday Sales Pouring License) 12:30 p.m. until midnight
Retail Stores Liquor (Off Premises)
Monday through Saturday, 8 a.m. until 11:45 p.m.
Sunday (with Sunday Sales Package License) 12:30 p.m. until 11:30 p.m.
Beer and Wine Retail Stores (Off Premises)
Monday through Friday, 6:00 a.m. until 2:00 a.m.
Saturday 6 a.m. until midnight
Licensee may confiscate false IDs if they report the confiscation to the Cobb County Police at 770-499-3933.
It is unlawful for anyone under 21 to misrepresent their age to purchase alcohol.
It is unlawful for anyone under eighteen to misrepresent their age to gain employment in an establishment that sells alcoholic beverages.
- It is unlawful to serve or sell alcoholic beverages to anyone under the age of twenty-one.
Admittance of Underage Persons
Underage persons are authorized in restaurants and off-premises establishments except in liquor package establishments. Persons under twenty-one must be accompanied by parent or guardian in liquor package establishments and in nightclubs. This does not include employees.
Laws Regulating Server Training
Georgia and Cobb County currently do not regulate server training, nor does the state or Cobb County provide a training program.
Regulation of Non-Alcohol Beer and Wine
Georgia and Cobb County treat non-alcohol beer and wine the same as any other alcohol beverage.
The penalties for serving or selling alcohol to a minor or someone who is already intoxicated vary from case to case depending on the number of previous offenses and the circumstances for the citation. Typically, penalties can range from $ 50 - $ 2,500 in fines on the individual violator. Suspension or revocation of the license can also occur to the business.
Election Day Sales
Authorized in Cobb County since October 1989. See Section 6-223 of the Cobb County Code of Ordinances.
Christmas Day Sales
Alcohol is allowed to be sold by the package or by the drink on Christmas Day.
Suspension or Revocation of Alcohol Permit
When a licensee, employee, or agent of an establishment with an Alcoholic Beverage License is charged with selling, furnishing, or allowing an underage person to possess an alcoholic beverage, a hearing will be scheduled before the License Review Board and the Board of Commissioners. The alcoholic beverage license may be suspended or revoked.
Suspension or Revocation Of Alcoholic Beverage Work Permit
When an individual with an alcohol permit is charged with selling, furnishing, or allowing an underage person to possess an alcoholic beverage, in addition to criminal charges, a hearing will be scheduled before the License Review Board where the permit may suspended or revoked.
Summary of Happy Hour Laws for Unincorporated Cobb County
Prices shall not vary from hour to hour within a single day. Drink prices must be effective for not less than a twenty- four hour period beginning at 12:01 a.m. and ending at midnight.
None of the following is allowed:
- Offer or deliver free alcoholic beverages.
- Deliver more than two alcoholic beverages to one person at one time.
- Allow any person to possess more than two alcoholic beverages at one time.
- Sell, offer, or deliver to any person or group alcoholic beverages for a price less than regularly charged during the same twenty-four hour period.
- Sell, offer, or deliver to any person or group, two or more, or unlimited amounts of alcoholic beverages during a set period of time at a fixed price.
- Sell, offer, or deliver to any person or group, alcoholic beverages, at prices less than those charged the general public.
- Sell, offer, or deliver a pitcher or carafe of an alcoholic beverage except to two or more persons at one time.
- Increase volume of alcohol contained in a drink without increasing proportionately the price regularly charged during the same twenty-four hour period.
- Alcoholic beverage contest or contest involving or promoting the drinking of alcoholic beverages or the authorizing of alcoholic beverages as a prize.
- Sell, offer, or deliver two alcoholic beverages for the price of one.
- Require or encourage the purchase of second or subsequent alcoholic beverages at the same time as another beverage is purchased.
- Allow alcoholic beverages to be removed from premises. Premises include the entire area under supervision, management or control of licensee. Premises do not include parking lot. Cobb County does not issue permits for businesses to sell alcoholic beverages outside of their premises, i.e. parking lot.
- Advertise or promotion of any of the above.
For additional information regarding Happy Hour regulations, please see Section 6-236 of the Cobb County Code of Ordinance.
Persons required to obtain a Cobb County Alcohol Permit:
- All employees of liquor package stores.
- All employees of businesses with a pouring license
- All managers and security personnel of package or pouring establishments.
- All employees of convenience stores.
Alcohol server/work permits are issued by the Permit and Regulatory Services Unit of the Cobb County Police Department.
Cobb County Police Department Contact Information:
- Location: 140 North Marietta Parkway at the corner of Cherokee Street and North Marietta
- Parkway Phone: 770-499-3933
- Website: Cobb County Police Department
The following is prohibited by Cobb County Ordinances:
- Anyone under twenty-one to purchase, drink, possess alcoholic beverages.
- Anyone to maintain place where persons under twenty-one are allowed to possess, consume, or purchase alcoholic beverages.
- Unlawful for a parent, or person to buy alcoholic beverages for consumption by underage person or persons, except as provided by state law.
All licensees, agents, and employees are REQUIRED to examine ID of patrons to be certain of legal age. It is unlawful by Cobb County Code of Ordinances for any person to knowingly allow himself or another person in his employ to furnish alcoholic beverages to anyone under twenty-one. An open container of an alcoholic beverage is prohibited in a vehicle. Alcoholic beverages on school or park property is prohibited. For additional information or reference, please see Chapter 6 of the Cobb County Code of Ordinances which can be obtained from the Cobb County Clerk’s Office located at 100 Cherokee Street, Third Floor, Marietta, GA 30090.
For additional information or reference, please see Chapter 6 of the Cobb County Code of Ordinances which can be obtained from the Cobb County Clerk’s Office located at 100 Cherokee Street, Third Floor, Marietta, GA 30090.
[link to alcohol code]