Cobb County Government

About the Commission

The Cobb County Cemetery Preservation Commission is a volunteer commission created by the Board of Commissioners to provide a uniform procedure for the identification, preservation, protection, and maintenance of cemeteries, graveyards, and burial grounds. The unprecedented growth and development of Cobb County has caused the loss of many old cemeteries.

The Cemetery Preservation Commission has a broad scope and numerous means of encouraging the preservation of cemeteries. These include assisting with the creation of a new state law and local ordinance regarding cemetery preservation, developing educational programs and tourism sites.

The Cemetery Preservation Commission meets the first Monday of every month. The meetings are held at the Cobb County main library, Switzer Library, located at 266 Roswell Street, Marietta at 6PM.