Cobb County Government

Cobb's flood maps have been updated

New flood hazard maps for Cobb County are ready for public review. The preliminary maps are the result of a multi-year project to develop accurate and detailed digital flood maps for the Etowah Watershed based on data from the latest mapping and modeling technologies. The new maps reflect current flooding risks, replacing maps that are based on dated studies.Revisions to these maps include residents and business owners in areas of unincorporated Cobb, Acworth, Kennesaw, Marietta and Smyrna.  
Residents and business owners should be aware of how the maps changed and how the changes may affect new construction and rebuilding decisions, as well as requirements for flood insurance. The maps are available at