Cobb County Government

WilgusTagThe Department of Transportation (DOT) develops, manages, and operates the county's transportation systems.

Those systems include a vast network of roadways, sidewalks, and pathways; a transit system that provides public transportation services; and a general aviation airport that serves business and recreational flying needs.

More than 150 employees work in Cobb DOT’s seven divisions: administration, engineering, traffic operations, planning, airport, transit, and road maintenance. Working with partners in the community, DOT uses innovative technology to deliver high-impact results.

Transportation supports the county’s residents, businesses and visitors, and Cobb DOT is committed to keeping Cobb in motion. 


Recruitment Booklet

Learn more about Cobb County DOT and read what employees have to say about their experience working at Cobb with our 2015 DOT Career Booklet.


The Department is comprised of seven divisions:


Administration/Director's Office

Jim Wilgus, Director, 770-528-1645

Erica Parish, Deputy Director, 770-528-1635

Lynn Biggs, GIS Supervisor, 770-528-1638

Jeffrey Burns, Streetlight Program Administrator, 770-528-1691

Patrick Lewis, Right of Way Manager, 770-528-1617

Consists of the Department's Director and administrative staff who oversee all functions of the Department including the management of the Department’s budget and finances as well as personnel matters. This department also administers the county’s street lighting program (Streetlight Repair Form) as well as manages the right of way department, GIS and communications.



Karl Von Hagel, Division Manager, 770-528-1615

Exercises operational control and management of Cobb County Airport-McCollum Field, a general aviation airport. This division also initiates and implements programs to enhance the safety and efficiency of the facility.



Michael Francis, Transportation Division Manager/Chief Engineer, 770-528-1670

Meagean De La Cruz, Administrative Specialist, 770-528-1621

Tshiamala Katala, Environmental Compliance Engineer and PEACH Roads Manager, 770-590-6350

Russ Ford, Pre-Construction Engineer, 770-420-6659 

Vacant, Construction Engineer, 770-528-1622

Jim Martinez, District 1 Engineer, 770-528-4375

Karyn Matthews, Acting District 2 Engineer, 770-528-1635

Vacant, District 3 Engineer, 770-528-1695

Russ Ford, District 4 Engineer, 770-420-6659

The Engineering Department develops designs for transportation improvements including roadway, pedestrian and infrastructure upgrades.

Manages construction of projects and coordinates with regional agencies to implement improvements.

Development Services provides transportation review and analysis of land development activity and maintains the DOT’s Development Standards.


Road Maintenance

Bill Shelton, Division Manager, 770-528-3686

Operates and maintains the County's roadway systems including bridges, right-of-way drainage, sidewalks and landscaping.


Traffic Operations

David Montanye, Traffic Operations Division Manager, 770-528-1684

Brook Martin, ITS Manager, 770-528-4065

Kelly Patrick, Traffic Engineer Supervisor, 770-528-1636

Phyllis Stallings, Utility Permitting Manager, 770-528-1643

Housed within the newly constructed Regional Transportation Management Center (RTMC), Traffic Operations oversees the couny's traffic signal systems (Traffic Signal Reporting Form) and operates an Advanced Traffic Management System (ATMS) (Traffic Cameras). The division also issues permits to utilities desiring to locate in County rights-of-way (Utilities) as well as oversees pavement marking and signage issues.


Transit/ Cobb Community Transit

Vida Covington, Director, 770-427-4444

Cobb Community Transit (CCT) is the county's public transportation system including paratransit services for citizens with disabilities. Multiple Park and Ride Lots have been constructed throughout the County for the convenience of our patrons. This division oversees the contracted daily operations of CCT, and plans for system enhancements and expansion.


Transportation Planning

Eric Meyer, Planning Division Manager, 770-528-1539

Tracks development and population patterns to project future transportation needs and develop strategies to address those needs. These activities include modeling efforts, sidewalk and pathway system (Trails) development as well as transit planning. The division works closely with the Atlanta Regional Commission (ARC), the Georgia Regional Transportation Authority (GRTA), Georgia Department of Transportation (GDOT), Cobb’s municipalities and adjacent counties in the planning and programming of projects.