Cobb County Government


The following table consists of major Colleges and Universities within 75 miles from the Cobb County seat: 100 Cherokee Street, Marietta, GA. 

Chattahoochee Technical Institute     in Cobb County
Devry University in Cobb County
Kennesaw State University     in Cobb County
Life University in Cobb County
Saint Leo University in Cobb County
Shorter University in Cobb County
Savannah College of Art and Design (SCAD - Atlanta Campus) 17 miles from Cobb
Georgia Institute of Technology (GA Tech) 18 miles from Cobb
Oglethorpe University 19 miles from Cobb
Georgia State University 20 miles from Cobb
Morehouse School of Medicine 22 miles from Cobb
Spelman College 22 miles from Cobb
Mercer University 24 miles from Cobb
Emory University 24 miles from Cobb
Agnes Scott College 25 miles from Cobb
Brenau University 25 miles from Cobb
University of West Georgia (Carrollton) 62 miles from Cobb
University of North Georgia 72 miles from Cobb
University of Georgia 77 miles from Cobb



Kennesaw State University
Kennesaw State University is a member of the University System of Georgia and the third-largest university in the state with more than 35,000 students enrolled in the fall of 2016. It offers nearly 150 undergraduate, graduate and doctoral degrees and more than 200 student organizations ranging from student governance to Greek letter organizations. Kennesaw State offers 13 colleges on two campuses located in Kennesaw and Marietta, Georgia.  KSU is consistently recognized in national rankings such as U.S. News and World Report, Bloomberg BusinessWeek, Diverse: Issues in Higher Education, American Council of Trustees and Alumni and the Princeton Review. Kennesaw State’s NCAA Division I athletics program offers 18 varsity sports teams and in 2015, Kennesaw State University launched its first football program. 

Saint Leo University
St. Leo is a private, Roman Catholic liberal arts university located in St. Leo, Florida.  St. Leo is one of the five largest Catholic colleges in the United States and enrolls students at several locations through its main campus, centers for online learning, and remote education centers.  The Marietta Education Center offers flexible class schedules, affordable tuition, outstanding faculty and an environment tailored to busy adult students. This education center boasts a faculty-student ratio of 25:1. This location offers three associate, ten bachelor and two master programs. There are more than 16,000 students enrolled at St. Leo, with the majority taking advantage of the opportunity of online and remote-center learning.  St. Leo is one of the leading providers of education to active-duty military members, veterans and their families.  

Shorter University
Shorter University is a private liberal arts university located in Rome, Georgia.  Shorter adheres to Christian principles and has several remote campuses across the Atlanta area, including Marietta. They offer bachelor’s degrees in more than 40 study programs as well as graduate degrees.  Study programs are offered on site and online.  Nearly 2,000 students are enrolled at Shorter.  Previously known as Shorter College, Shorter adopted the University title in 2010 and in 2014, the Shorter Hawks became part of the NCAA Division II Gulf South Conference.

DeVry University
DeVry is a for-profit college that was founded in 1931.  More than 45,000 students are enrolled at DeVry at their 55 campuses in the United States.  DeVry offers undergraduate and graduate degree programs in areas of study such as Business and Management, Engineering and Information Science, Health Science, Liberal Arts and Sciences, Media Arts and Technology and the Keller Graduate School of Management. 

Life University
Life University is a private university located on 100 acres of wooded land in Marietta, Georgia.  Although they offer several undergraduate and graduate degree programs, Life is best known for its Doctor of Chiropractic degree program and their focus on wellness-oriented fields.  Life University is the largest single campus chiropractic school in the world and currently enrolls nearly 3,000 students.

Chattahoochee Technical College
Chattahoochee Technical College offers education and training as part of the Technical College System of Georgia.  They are located on eight campuses in six counties in north Georgia.  Chattahoochee Tech offers more than 70 programs of study including degree, diploma and certificate programs.  The five key study areas are Business Science, Computer Science, Engineering Technology, Health Science, Personal and Public Services and Technical Studies.  Classes are offered during the day, evening, weekend and online to give students an abundance of opportunity to complete their education.

Georgia Highlands College
Georgia Highlands College is a multi-campus, state college. Georgia Highlands serves over 6,000 students across Northwest Georgia and Northeast Alabama. There are currently over 30 areas of study with associate and bachelor’s degree options offered at Georgia Highlands College; classes are available both in the classroom and online.  



The Cobb County School District (CCSD) is the second largest school system in Georgia and the 23rd largest in the nation.  It serves nearly 113,00 students with 112 schools, including 67 elementary schools, 25 middle schools, 16 high schools, one charter school, one special education center, one adult education center and one performance learning center. 



Marietta City Schools (MCS) serves 8,900 students and is Georgia’s first Charter School System and International Baccalaureate (IB) World School District.  MCS offers eight elementary choice schools, one sixth-grade school, one middle school and one high school. STEM certified programs are offered in one MCS elementary school, the sixth-grade school and the middle school. The middle school is also recognized 
as a Georgia Lighthouse School to Watch (2012, 2015).