Cobb County Government

Burning ban arrives for metro Atlanta

Fire 200Please be aware the metro wide ban on outdoor burning is in effect through Oct. 1. During these months, you may not burn leaves, tree limbs or other yard waste. Burning forest land or use air curtain destructors for land clearing is also prohibited. This is a state-issued ban that affects 54 Georgia counties. Cobb County Fire and Emergency Services staff is responsible for enforcing the burning ban in unincorporated Cobb County and the cities of Acworth, Kennesaw and Powder Springs. For more information, visit