Cobb County Government
The South Cobb Redevelopment Authority
In 2011, the Georgia General Assembly approved local legislation that allowed for the alteration, expansion, and renaming of the South Cobb Development Authority to be (SCRA). The purpose of the SCRA is to revitalize and redevelop areas that have been underinvested or underutilized in the past. The overall intent is to promote/create favorable locations for trade, commerce, industry, and employment opportunities. This is accomplished through the financing of projects that promote the purpose of the authority and assist redevelopment activities through strategic investments, low interests bonds, land banking, and other means.


SCRA News & Updates

Study: Mableton needs own identity

by Geoff Folsom
The Marietta Daily Journal - August 21, 2012

A study funded by ARC said the community needs a “champion,” & becoming Cobb’s 3rd community improvement district might be the route to victory.

Public Workshops

What: Public Workshop
Re: Riverside Redevelopment
When:  Monday, April 6, 2015 6:30 – 8 p.m.
Where: South Cobb Recreation Center
              875 Six Flags Drive Austell, GA


About Us

The South Cobb Redevelopment Authority, redefined by act of the Georgia General Assembly in 2011 (Ga.L. 2011, p. 4089), is the successor body to the South Cobb Development Authority, originally created by legislative enactment in 1982 (Ga. L. 1982, p. 3772). The Redevelopment Authority is charged with the “revitalization and redevelopment” of the South Cobb area and is composed of seven members, four of whom are appointed by the Cobb County Board of Commissioners and three of whom are appointed by the Cobb County delegation to the Georgia General Assembly.

The SCRA Board