Cobb County Government

Outdoor Burning

Burning Banned May 1 - September 30

The Georgia Department of Natural Resources has issued a ban on open burning May 1 – September 30 of each year. Fifty-four counties in Georgia (including Cobb County) are affected. Cobb County Fire and Emergency Services are responsible for the enforcement of this state-issued burning ban in unincorporated Cobb County, and the cities of Acworth, Kennesaw, and Powder Springs.

From May 1 – September 30, you may not burn leaves, tree limbs, or other yard waste, forest land, or use air curtain destructors for land clearing.

Plan Review / Certificate of Occupancy

WE NOW ACCEPT Visa/Mastercard/Diners Club/Discover/Apple Pay IN ADDITION TO CASH OR CHECK

Every new business, tenant, or building is required to have a Certificate of Occupancy. This certificate indicates that the building or tenant meets the minimum adopted building and fire codes.

Home Fire Safety

Smoke alarms and residential sprinkler systems save lives! Read more about how to protect your home and family from house fires.

About the Fire Marshal's Office / Contact Us

The Cobb County Fire Marshal's Office is staffed by 25 full-time employees and 1 part-time employee organized into three primary work groups: Plan Review, New Construction Inspections, and Existing Building Inspections. The division is led by the Division Chief-Fire Marshal and each of these work groups is led by a Captain-Deputy Fire Marshal. See our organizational chart below for more details.