Cobb County Government

The Department of Transportation (DOT) develops, manages, and operates the county's transportation systems.

Those systems include a vast network of roadways, sidewalks, and pathways; a transit system that provides public transportation services; and a general aviation airport that serves business and recreational flying needs.

More than 150 employees work in Cobb DOT’s seven divisions: administration, engineering, traffic operations, planning, airport, transit, and road maintenance. Working with partners in the community, DOT uses innovative technology to deliver high-impact results.

Transportation supports the county’s residents, businesses and visitors, and Cobb DOT is committed to keeping Cobb in motion. 



The Department is comprised of seven divisions:

Administration/Director's Office

Erica Parish, Interim Director, 770-528-1607

Lynn Biggs, GIS Supervisor, 770-528-1638

Jeffrey Burns, Streetlight Program Administrator, 770-528-1691

Patrick Lewis, Right of Way Manager, 770-528-1617

Phyllis Stallings, Utility Permitting Manager, (770) 528-1643

Consists of the Department's Director and administrative staff who oversee all functions of the Department including the management of the Department’s budget and finances as well as personnel matters. This department also administers the county’s street lighting program (Streetlight Repair Form) as well as manages the right of way department, GIS and communications.


Michael Francis, Transportation Division Manager/Chief Engineer, 770-528-1670

Vacant, Environmental Compliance Engineer and PEACH Roads Manager, 770-590-6350

Russ Ford, Pre-Construction Engineer, 770-420-6659 

Judy Skeel, Construction Engineer, 770-528-1695

Jim Martinez, District 1 Engineer, 770-528-4375

Karyn Matthews, District 2 Engineer, 770-528-1635

Brian Loudermilk, District 3 Engineer, 770-528-1695

Ligia Florim, District 4 Engineer, 770-420-6659


The Engineering Department develops designs for transportation improvements including roadway, pedestrian and infrastructure upgrades; manages construction of projects; and coordinates with regional agencies to implement improvements. Development Services provides transportation review and analysis of land development activity and maintains the DOT’s Development Standards.

Road Maintenance

Bill Shelton, Division Manager, 770-528-3686

Operates and maintains the County's roadway systems including bridges, right-of-way drainage, sidewalks and landscaping.

Traffic Operations

David Montanye, Traffic Operations Division Manager, 770-528-1684

Brook Martin, ITS Manager, 770-528-4065

Kelly Patrick, Traffic Engineer Supervisor, 770-528-1636

Housed within the newly constructed Regional Transportation Management Center (RTMC), Traffic Operations oversees the couny's traffic signal systems (Traffic Signal Reporting Form) and operates an Advanced Traffic Management System (ATMS) (Traffic Cameras). The division also issues permits to utilities desiring to locate in County rights-of-way (Utilities) as well as oversees pavement marking and signage issues.

Transportation Planning

Eric MeyerPlanning Division Manager, 770-528-1539

Tracks development and population patterns to project future transportation needs and develop strategies to address those needs. These activities include modeling efforts, sidewalk and pathway system (Trails) development as well as transit planning. The division works closely with the Atlanta Regional Commission (ARC), the Georgia Regional Transportation Authority (GRTA), Georgia Department of Transportation (GDOT), Cobb’s municipalities and adjacent counties in the planning and programming of projects.




Frequently Called Numbers:

Main: 770-528-1600

DOT Work  Requests: 770-528-3666

After Hours: All calls to the DOT Work Request line are forwarded to the Water System after-hours number.


E-mail:  DOT | CobbLinc updated as of August 2016
CobbLinc Andrea Foard 770-427-4444
Cobb County International Airport - McCollum Field Karl Von Hagel 770-528-1615
Cobb County Tag Office 770-528-8600
Construction Engineer Judy Skeel 770-528-1695
Construction (Resurfacing) Kristen Orton 678-581-3428
Interim Director Erica Parish 770-528-1607
Development Review/Driveways Fred Bentley 770-528-1666
Drivers License Information State of Georgia 678-413-8600
Planning Eric Meyer 770-528-1539
Pre-Construction Engineer Russ Ford 770-420-6659
Road Maintenance Bill Shelton 770-528-3686
Road Right-of-Way Inquiries Patrick Lewis 770-528-1617
Speed Hump Inquiries Kelly Patrick 770-528-1660
Street Light Inquiries Jeff Burns 770-528-1691
Traffic Engineer Kelly Patrick 770-528-1636
Traffic Operations Division David Montanye 770-528-1684
Transportation Division Manager Michael Francis 770-528-3692
Utilities Phyllis Stallings 770-528-1643