Cobb County Government

Cobb Juvenile Court judge sworn-in as president of Council of Juvenile Court Judges

May 31 (Marietta, Ga.) -- Cobb County Juvenile Court Judge James R. Whitfield was recently sworn into office as the president of the Council of Juvenile Court Judges for the state of Georgia at a ceremony on May 8. Judge Whitfield’s term as president will begin June 1 and run thru May 31, 2018. Administering the oath of office was former council president, Judge J. Lane Bearden, Juvenile Court judge in the Cherokee Circuit.

“I am honored to serve as the new president of the Council of Juvenile Court Judges and look forward to working with this outstanding group of colleagues to address the needs of our juveniles statewide,” Whitfield said.

The ceremony was part of the spring conference for the Council for Juvenile Court Judges held at the King & Prince Resort in St. Simons, Ga. The Council of Juvenile Court Judges is composed of all judges of the courts exercising jurisdiction over juveniles, and is currently comprised of 148 judges throughout the state. Council staff provides support to juvenile courts through legal research services, legislative tracking and specialized programs to assist in protecting the best interests of children and the state.

Judge Whitfield has been a Juvenile Court judge in Cobb County since 2005 and was recently reappointed to another four-year term, running through 2020. Along with his experience as a juvenile judge, Judge Whitfield also brings his expertise serving on numerous statewide committees and councils involving juvenile justice, including the Governor’s Children Cabinet and the Supreme Court Committee on Justice for Children.

For more information, please contact Amanda Marshall at 770-528-8101 or