(a) Certificate required. It shall be unlawful for any person to have or possess a dangerous dog or potentially dangerous dog without a certificate of registration issued by the county. No more than one certificate of registration shall be granted per person or owner for a dangerous dog or potentially dangerous dog. No more than one certificate shall be issued per domicile.
(b) Conditions for issuance of certificate. Subject to the requirements of this section for dangerous dogs and subject to revocation for non-compliance and possible confiscation, the CCAC manager shall issue a certificate of registration to the owner of a dangerous dog or potentially dangerous dog if the owner presents to the CCAC manager sufficient evidence of the following:
- (1) A proper enclosure to confine the dangerous dog or potentially dangerous dog; and
- (2) The posting on the premises of a dangerous dog sign obtained from the county warning that there is a dangerous dog or potentially dangerous dog on the property.
(c) Dangerous dogs. In addition to the requirements of subsection (a) and (b) of this section, the owner of a dangerous dog shall present to the CCAC manager evidence of either:
- (1) Insurance. A policy of insurance in the amount specified by the State of Georgia Dangerous Dog Law, issued by an insurer authorized to transact business in this state insuring the owner of a dangerous dog against liability for any personal injuries inflicted by the dangerous dog, provided:
- a. It shall be the continuing and sole duty of the owner to provide the CCAC manager an updated and effective policy;
- b. The owner shall notify the CCAC manager of any changes, renewals, and/or cancellations by written notice at least 30 days prior to any change, renewal, and/or cancellation; and
- c. The county shall have the right to rely on the representations of the owner that to maintain the required insurance when the owner qualifies for the issuance of the certificate of registration; or
- (2) Surety bond. A surety bond in the amount specified by the State of Georgia and issued by a surety company authorized to transact business in this state payable to any persons injured by the dangerous dog.
(d) Fees. The certificate of registration must be renewed annually on the date the dog was declared a dangerous dog or potentially dangerous dog. An annual fee to register dangerous dogs and potentially dangerous dogs as set by the board of commissioners shall be paid by the owner to CCAC.
(e) Right to inspect. CCAC shall have the right to inspect, randomly and without notice, a dangerous dog or potentially dangerous dog, which is required to be confined pursuant to this section, in its environment. Permission of the owner or person in custody of the animal confined shall not be unreasonably withheld.
(f) The owner of a dangerous dog or potentially dangerous dog shall notify the dog control officer within 24 hours if the dog is loose, unconfined, has attacked a human, has died, or has been sold or donated. If the dog has been sold or donated, the owner shall provide the dog control officer the name, address, and telephone number of the new owner of the dog, and notify the new owner of the designation.
(g) The owner of a dangerous dog or potentially dangerous dog shall notify the dog control officer within ten days if the owner is moving within the Dog Control Officer's jurisdiction or moving from the Dog Control Officer's jurisdiction. The owner of the dangerous dog or potentially dangerous dog who is moving out of the county shall register the dangerous dog or potentially dangerous dog in the new jurisdiction within ten days after becoming a resident. Likewise, any person moving into Cobb County who owns a dangerous dog or potentially dangerous dog shall register the dangerous dog in Cobb County within ten days after becoming a resident.
(h) Any person who releases a vicious animal either willfully through failure to exercise due care or control or who takes such animal out of such proper enclosure in such a manner which is likely to cause injury to another person or damage to the property of another person shall be in violation of this chapter.
(Ord. of 10-24-89; Res. of 11-9-93; Code 1977, § 3-5-8; Ord. of 5-24-05)
State law reference—Dangerous Dog Control Law, O.C.G.A. § 4-8-20 et seq.