Cobb County Government

Important Information

  • All Traffic Violations under state law occurring within the jurisdiction of unincorporated Cobb County are adjudicated in State Court. The cities of Marietta, Smyrna, Powder Springs, Acworth, Kennesaw and Austell have courts for violations within their respective city limits. All cases where a jury trial is to be held are bound over to the State Court of Cobb County for trial.
  • Misdemeanor crimes are prosecuted in the State Court by the Solicitor General, Barry Morgan.
  • Information on an arrest case is not available through the Clerk’s Office until the case is officially filed by the Solicitor General’s Office and docketed by the Clerk. If there has been an arrest and no accusation drawn and filed, the case will be in the Magistrate Court or the Solicitor General’s Office.
  • The Clerk of State Court maintains all of the Court’s records, collects all court costs, fees and fines and attends court sessions. Cases begin and end with the Clerk. Cases are officially filed, processed and scheduled for trial. Following disposition by the Court, the Clerk records the disposition and processes any necessary follow-up to each case. The records are open to the public for inspection during normal working hours. The Clerk’s Office may assist the public on an individual case basis by phone when possible, however, we do not do record searches.
  • Terms of Court are two months.
  • Civil, Criminal and Traffic case information is not available online at this time.
  • At this time we do not accept fax filings.
  • Small Claims (not exceeding $15,000.00) may be filed in the State Court or the Magistrate Court of Cobb County.